Our Glorious Past

If I have to write a review of the story that is enraging powerful segments of the population, I would have to use 4 words- ‘I am my vagina’. Something happens to it, rest of me- arms, legs, brains, all need to be set fire to. It’s the seat of my father’s honour, it’s the residence of my sisters marriage prospects, it is the headquarter of my clan’s place in the grand scheme of things.

My family had spared no effort educating me about the importance of my vagina. But perhaps I was born ‘fallen’. Never could get the hang of why my vagina is more important than my arm.

It’s a magnum opus of victim blaming. It is a period drama of misogyny at its best. It is a tribute to regressive patriarchal traditions that should have died a violent death instead of the women in the story. Went to Nal Sarovar today in this blue Mysore silk gifted at my wedding by a very dear friend.

Leave a comment